//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Day 7–Be Proud–Create Space For Yourself-

This post is dedicated to my wife Jennifer. She inspired me to create this blog. Her unwavering support makes this journey possible.

It took a lot of energy to plan this trip to Sedona, Arizona. It started to take more energy to not share it with my friends, family, and clients. I have a Change Practice–one part is life coaching and the other is real estate. In both, I support, facilitate and create space for people to make change in their lives. My practice evolved into a cohesive unit this past year and it propelled me to make this journey to Sedona, Arizona. For me, Sedona has and is a place of change and transformation. I created space for a two month journey to this sacred land in Arizona. I have gotten mixed reactions from close friends and family. Some favorites are, “that’s interesting,” “who do you know out there,” “what are you going to do all by yourself?” “how could you leave your wife now when she just started a business,” “What about your business?”

Well folks, in the real estate side of the business very few people are buying and selling homes over the holidays. The few clients that are are doing this and their deals have not skipped a beat. You see I asked for help and received it. The biggest mistake small business owners make is that they think they have to do everything. I am building a business that does not rise and set on me–what if I dropped dead tomorrow. I am building a business that is sustainable meaning that business happens whether I am there or not to open a door. Granted I have feet on the ground and have made phone calls. These two months are about my whole Change Practice not real estate vs. life coaching but both.

I am here in Sedona. I am writing, meditating, exercising, creating a new relationship with food, and breathing. I am meeting with new friends, new colleagues, realtors and learning how people live here in this beautiful transformative place. The act of taking time for one self scares many people. Perplexes others. We all have pressures, daily trials and tribulations, hurts, and pains that all get stored up. Well, this is the two months I have carved out to relax, renew, and rejuvenate my self on all levels (mind, body, and soul). This does not mean that life does not continue, it does with me in a different location.

So, on this day 7, I am coming out and declaring to all it is ok to create space for change–how else is it going to happen. The next time your friend or spouse comes to you with an idea about changing it up, doing something different–think 2x–Life is not a dress rehearsal–you have a choice–it is up to you. Your life is as big or as small as you make it. I invite you to follow me on my 60 day journey of Living Your Possibilities With Joy!

About Joy Rain

Joy has been a diversity and inclusion consultant and mediator for over ten years. Prior to consulting, she was professor of Psychology and Women Studies. Joy has a Master of Arts in Psychology (Boston University) and a Master of Education in Social Justice Education (UMASS Amherst).

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

