//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Day 37–Migraines, Cinnamon & Pilates

I spent yesterday with a terrible migraine. I did go to Pilates and my teacher told me that I should just go home and listen to my body.  I was just going to ignore it and do Pilates. Then when I got home, it actually got worse.  It is hard to stop and just pay attention to what is going on in my body. I had cinnamon toast and went to bed early.

Stopping and letting ourselves be in the moment, even if it is filled with pain is important and necessary.  Jen reminded me that migraines are connected with repressed anger.  Nothing immediately came to mind so I went to bed. Next time you have a headache, backache, neck ache, what would if me if you just stopped, paused and experienced it. No Tylenol or Aleve, just felt it and asked where it was coming from and why?

Many cultures tell us that each body pain is connected with an emotional experience. Listening to the body can open the heart and clear the mind. Sometimes, we need both.

About Joy Rain

Joy has been a diversity and inclusion consultant and mediator for over ten years. Prior to consulting, she was professor of Psychology and Women Studies. Joy has a Master of Arts in Psychology (Boston University) and a Master of Education in Social Justice Education (UMASS Amherst).

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

