//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Day 38–Coffee, Crescent Moon Ranch & Cathedral Rock

This morning, I woke with a migraine that seem to be running out of steam. I knew I was nearing the end.  I thought again about Jen’s question, “Who are you mad at?” Then I felt it important to go to Crescent Moon Ranch. It is the place in Sedona, where everyone takes a picture of Cathedral Rock with the river. It is one of the most photographed places in the world. It is very quiet, calm, and nurturing there. The dogs and I had a great rock and we even stopped and sat along the river’s edge.

All I could hear was the rush of the water, against the rocks as it flowed downstream. That is the thing about life and the river, it never stops moving forward. I thought about my journey home. I realized that when I return, I am not returning to or back to my life but I am continuing on my life with these new insights, alignments, clearings, energy, passion, and love. My life has not stopped during my time here, it has continued like the river. I don’t know what twists and turns are up ahead but it will continue. Just as sure as the sun will rise each day.

I have often found that no matter how tough things seem, realizing that each day brings a chance for a new start, a new beginning, and all I can do is be present in that and not get bogged down in the past.  I remember as my living was in the midst of a big transition and I was living alone for the first time. I reveled in waking up and making coffee.

The process of putting the water in the machine, the filter, then coffee. Smelling the fresh coffee as it was brewing as I started my new day in my new life. It became a ritual more than a routine. I was taking time to just be present and enjoy it. Now, how I start my day is very important, and taking time to make tea or coffee and breakfast centers me to begin the day as it should begun—gently and with presence.

As the walk ended, so did my migraine. It left and now I feel different. I feel like I have shifted. I don’t quite know how to explain—a real inner calm has come over me and it has not gone away. I feel a methodology to being present that is new.  By the way, I realized I was mad which is really hurt turned inward at my mom. Tonight, as I enjoyed the sunset, I asked the Universe to handle it and I could no longer carry it and figure it all out. Phew…….

May you all enjoy the start of your new day and share with us how you begin it because it is a gift to us!

About Joy Rain

Joy has been a diversity and inclusion consultant and mediator for over ten years. Prior to consulting, she was professor of Psychology and Women Studies. Joy has a Master of Arts in Psychology (Boston University) and a Master of Education in Social Justice Education (UMASS Amherst).

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

