//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Day 39–Is Your Glass Half Full?

Is your glass half full? I met an amazing hair dresser today, his name is Isaac. He like so many moved here and characterizes his life as, “I am living my dream.” Sedona is a place of transformation and he reminded that some may not be ready for it.  As a former New Yorker, he sounded to me like he was characterizing the city, “it might spit you back out. If that happens, it is you who is doing the spitting.” The characterization felt harsh but true. This is a place of great change. It brings up everyone’s s.h.i.t. and some people are ready for it.

I see it a bit differently. In Sedona, there is a lot of energy and 4 million people come here each year to “feel it” or “experience it”. Well, I think it impacts each of us differently and meet us where we are ready.  Each time Jen has come, it brings up a lot for her and she usually gets physically sick. It is never anything to serious and seems connected to whatever is working its’ way out. Similar to my migraine, it shifted my consciousness, my energy level and I feel different—emotionally, spiritually, and physically. The Pilates is helping and I am sure part of this whole shift. Back to my question—is your glass half full?

How do you answer it? Sedona is about creating space for transformation. I create space in my Change practice for individuals to transform themselves. Part of the shift that is needed is to shift in attitude. My point is, you can change your whole life mechanics: your physical body, your profession, your surroundings, your home, your friends, your school, but if we keep the same mindset then we close to happiness, peace, and calm. So, I guess the answer to the question is really not half empty or half full but are you drinking from the right glass?

About Joy Rain

Joy has been a diversity and inclusion consultant and mediator for over ten years. Prior to consulting, she was professor of Psychology and Women Studies. Joy has a Master of Arts in Psychology (Boston University) and a Master of Education in Social Justice Education (UMASS Amherst).

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

