//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Day 41–Mountain Lions, Josh Lucas & Cats Oh My!

Today was an adventure. At the end of the morning walk, I was talking to a neighbor and had accidentally dropped Toby’s leash. A cat that has made more than one appearance (has come to our living room window and sat looking in at the dogs) appeared. So Toby was off, he scurried under the grey slat fence and rand into the drainage ditch. These drainage ditches are everywhere in Sedona. He was on it. I quickly asked the neighbor to hold Sedona who was content to just lie down, eat grass and watch the show.

Over the fence I went and down the ditch. These ditches are about 15 feet wide and slope about 5 feet on either slide. Toby is nowhere to be seen. As I make my way down the ditch, through the mix of mud, rocks, and who knows what, I hear a leash jingle.

He ran up the other side of the ditch and scaled the wall. As I start climbing, another neighbor in this condo association runs out and yells that my dog is upsetting her dog. I yelled back that this was an accident and I am trying to get him. She just stood there steaming.  As I climbed over the wall, there was Mr. T running over to me, happy as ever and still looking for the cat. I grabbed his leash and we went back around to get Sedona. The naughty neighbor is still standing there staring at us. The nice neighbor who is holding Sedona, repeated my past statements that it was an accident. She just stared. Whatever… I thanked the nice neighbor and off we went.

When we got back, we all settled in for a nap. I have been wearing my necklace all night and now was starting to feel dizzy so I took it off.  We went out on a later midday and I thought about should we go hiking or just walk around the neighborhood. I thought about where we could walk and I just thought, “No, I don’t want to run into any mountain lions or coyotes during our walk.” So, as we were doing our normal route, Poof—just bast the steel bridges that Toby conquered was a mountain lion.

It was walking up from one of these drainage ditches and a gal with two big dogs walked out in front of it. The gal with the dogs was heading towards me and the mountain lion was behind her so she didn’t see it. I stood there watching. The big cat looked startled and it did’tn want to be seen. So, it slinked backwards and then continued moving. I abruptly turned back and thought ok, we need to get home.

As I walking, I was trying to calm myself down—it is not like this cat was going to come out of no where and attack us. Then it hit me. We have been walking among the mountain lions, coyotes, bobcats all along. Only today, now did the mountain lion choose to reveal itself to me. It may sound corny but these animals are only seen if they want to be seen.

It is no coincidence that I started my shamanic training yesterday and now here is the cat. It is considered animal medicine and when an animal reveals itself to you it comes with a message. Mountain lions are about balancing power, embracing leadership, and knowing when to reveal and not.

So, I stopped being afraid and thanked the Universe for offering this gift. It’s funny, most us say, we don’t know what to do and throw our hands up in the air. The answers are always there we just have to be open and ready for what they are. –Namaste!

p.s. I do know what to do if we have a close encounter—Thanks to Josh Lucas!

About Joy Rain

Joy has been a diversity and inclusion consultant and mediator for over ten years. Prior to consulting, she was professor of Psychology and Women Studies. Joy has a Master of Arts in Psychology (Boston University) and a Master of Education in Social Justice Education (UMASS Amherst).

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

