//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Day 44–Pilates, Friends & Chocolate!

 

Today was my 21st Pilates class!! Yay! I am going to miss my instructor. I have learned so much from her and I wish she could continue to be my teacher. I know I will come back here and when I do I will set up some lessons. Finding a good trainer is like finding a good therapist—you have to take a bite out of a lot of chocolates in a Whitman’s sampler until you find the one you want.

My friend Tim arrived today. It is fun to have a friend around and do fun things with. Maybe that why Jen and I call him, Fun Tim:) It feels like this new social outings is a beginning of the next phase. As if I am gently leaving the nest of Sedona and starting to fly out in the world again.  Part of Living Your Possibilities With Joy is about appreciating and celebrating friendships—new, old, and some where in between.  It is also appreciating your friendship with yourself. Do you treat yourself how you treat your friends? Is it better, worse or different? Are you friends with yourself?

This is a picture of me and my best bud Tony. Tony and I have been best friends for over 10years. He has been with me through a lot of life changes and vice versa. As I was looking for a picture of Tim, I came across this picture. This was a day we just took off to the beach. I remember watching Tony play in the waves and he just laughed it laughed. Listening to a friend’s laughter is one of the most amazing gifts. Next time you and your friend share a laugh–appreciate it and soak it up.

About Joy Rain

Joy has been a diversity and inclusion consultant and mediator for over ten years. Prior to consulting, she was professor of Psychology and Women Studies. Joy has a Master of Arts in Psychology (Boston University) and a Master of Education in Social Justice Education (UMASS Amherst).

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

