//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Day 46-Cathedral Rock Delight

Today my spiritual bud and I spent most of the day on Cathedral Rock. We started our trek thinking it would just be a 2hour hike. This is my second time up and it was really hard this time. At different points, I had to stop and catch my breath. I don’t know what was going on—last time I didn’t lose my breath at all. Once we reached the top, I felt really dizzy and my legs did not feel strong. I stayed and meditated for a little bit. Then I had to start my way down to get to Pilates. I kept hearing—stay, stay. But I ignored it. So as I started to head down, my legs felt like jello and I got even more dizzy.

Tim was staying. As I continued down, all I could think of was if I made it down without falling what kind of shape was I going to be in for Pilates. I called my Pilates instructor from there and said I couldn’t come as I was really dizzy. I didn’t want to make her worry or think I was nuts that I was stuck at the top of Cathedral Rock. Just after I got off the phone and started back up everything shifted. I was no longer dizzy and my legs felt fine. So Tim and I ventured to different spots along the top. We each found some hot spots—energy spots! Did some meditation. I felt a lot of shifting and even tingling on my face and back of my head.

Two hours later, it was time to go. As we headed down Tim found a spot. We both stood there and it felt like little fairies sprinkling gold sprinkles on us. It was as if Cathedral Rock was offering one more gift to send us out into the world. Or if I were a cupcake just coming out with my new  vanilla frosting and getting some party sprinkles on top:)–Namaste and Hail to the Cupcake Gods!

Today was a lesson for me in listening. You know that gut feeling you have and how you feel when you ignore it–times it by 10. I feel as though I have tapped into something and I wasn’t listening so it was coming through my body. I literally felt awful and realized I just needed to listen and stay. It is hard to just go off schedule and do something without really knowing why but you just have to.

Sedona has taught me to get more in touch with this inner voice, gut instinct, call it whatever you want. And now when I resist it, I feel it. It kind of like falling in love. I remember when I met my wife for the first time, and in one moment our eyes locked and it just hit both of us. It scared me at first so I ignored it and she went against her dating rules and continued the pursuit. Do you remember when you met a love?

About Joy Rain

Joy has been a diversity and inclusion consultant and mediator for over ten years. Prior to consulting, she was professor of Psychology and Women Studies. Joy has a Master of Arts in Psychology (Boston University) and a Master of Education in Social Justice Education (UMASS Amherst).

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

