//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Day 49–ATV’s, Chips Patrol & Stella

Today Tim and I  rented ATV’s and went out to Boynton Canyon. I have never been one before. It was fun. I realized as I was getting on the ATV that this is the kind of activity that requires confidence, strength and just a letting go and having fun. I am glad I felt strong and re-connected with my physical body. The ATV’s went up to about 50mph. I got it to about 40mph and that was good for me. I almost felt like it would probable be easier if it had 2 wheels instead of four. Back in my teens, I had a 1985 Camaro Berlinetta with a V8 and a 350 horsepower–I pushed my luck and speed enough for one lifetime:)

The last time I was on anything like this was about 20 years ago. My Dad’s riding lawnmower. I used to put it in gear and make it go as fast as possible. The ATV felt like that but only faster. AZ doesn’t require a help but does require eyeware—go figure. I guess they want you to see what can happen to your head if you don’t wear a helmet. It was fun! There were some tough parts of the trail that were very rocky and very vertical. At one point, I did almost flip it backward.

But Stella (that what I named her—thought it would be important to have a relationship with the ATV) got me up with all her might:) Not a call I wanted to have to make to my wife telling her I flipped the ATV she didn’t want me on in the first place. I saw some cattle up close. The canyon just went on and on forever. It almost looked like a city of red rock space ships. The ancient ruins was rather underwhelming. It is the most visited place in Sedona. It is kind of like visiting Plymouth Rock. It looks contrived and whitewashed into history instead of as it was. There are steel railings and other visitors’ ego got the better of them and they wrote their names all over the rocks.

It was a fun 4 hours. By the end it was very cold and I was glad to jump in my car and turn the heat on.  A different way to experience the magic of the red rocks and an example of one of my crooked lines. Doing something out of one’s comfort zone makes us realize we are stronger than we realized. When was the last time you did something that pushed you?

p.s. While we were riding the ATV’s we pretended we were on Chips Patrol–I was Ponch:) LA56 Over And Out..

 

About Joy Rain

Joy has been a diversity and inclusion consultant and mediator for over ten years. Prior to consulting, she was professor of Psychology and Women Studies. Joy has a Master of Arts in Psychology (Boston University) and a Master of Education in Social Justice Education (UMASS Amherst).

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

