//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Sunday Night Shuffle, Squirrels and Sleep

Evening all,

Sunday night–conjures up a lot. Sunday night is the time that all that troubles me, worries me, and makes me say Hmmm… runs through my mind like a marathon. All that I want to change, all that I want to start doing, stop doing play like the reruns of Seinfeld–over and over again. What is it about Sunday night? Oprah kicked up a life class marathon on Sundays. Shouldn’t it be a day of quiet contemplation, peace, and gentleness?

Today started off in a beautiful fashion. Jen and I’s best bud Tim came over for a family walk to Smith College. Tim arrived to find us negotiating with Toby over a 6month old squirrel hide at the foot of our driveway. Glad we all ate before this scene. After we doctor scrubbed our hands and arms ensuring no remaining squirrel gifts we set off on our walk. Now, our beloved Tim has truly scene all the sides to our family–it doesn’t get any more gruesome than that:) Our walk was filled with all that is beautiful–we literally stopped and smell the flowers, took notice of warmth in the air and excitedly talked about future plans.

Like clock work, the Sunday night shuffle began just at bedtime. The whole time I was in a doctoral program (remember I was in 2-crazy yes) every night was like Sunday, then when I had tough bosses that I didn’t want to work with or for, Sunday night shuffle usually began on Sat night. Since, launching my own businesses (I guess I do everything in pairs) Monday is usually a gentle day and I celebrate Sunday nights. But lately, since returning from Sedona, it has become more of this contemplative time to release anxiety, sadness, and anger.

So, now I am starting to think Sunday night is a time when we struggle most to deny what we have been denying all week. It is a night that our collective conscious wakes up and offers up the opportunity for us acknowledge what troubles us to be able to let it go and make change. Maybe it is a small change or a big one–we will only do what we can and whatever it is is enough.

We create our structure and our own chaos. We are in charge of our time so we decide what we have time for and what we don’t. So, to all my fellow Sunday Night shufflers—know you are not alone in all that is coming up tonight and know that tomorrow the sun will rise and we will all make it through–the difference is how we face tonight impacts how we create our tomorrow.

About Joy Rain

Joy has been a diversity and inclusion consultant and mediator for over ten years. Prior to consulting, she was professor of Psychology and Women Studies. Joy has a Master of Arts in Psychology (Boston University) and a Master of Education in Social Justice Education (UMASS Amherst).

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

